The winners of the 2019 Aga Khan Award for Architecture were announced today in Kazan, Russia. The publication, covering all shortlisted and the six winning projects, is available from the first week of September 2019.

Architecture in Dialogue: Aga Khan Award for Architecture 2019

Edited by Andres Lepik

With contributions by David Adjaye, Mohammad al-Asad, Anthony Kwamé Appiah, Emre Arolat, Francesco Bandarin, Meisa Batayneh, David Chipperfield, Nondita Correa Mehrotra, Farrokh Derakhshani, Elizabeth Diller, Edhem Eldem, Mona Fawaz, Kareem Ibrahim, Hanif Kara, Andres Lepik, Ali M. Malkawi, Azim Nanji, Nasser Rabbat, Brigitte Shim, and Marina Tabassum.

Design Julia Wagner, grafikanstalt

Size 17 x 24,5 cm, 6.7 x 9.6 inches
Features 352 pages, 223 illustrations, hardback, full color, stich bound, finishing with UV-varnish and embossing

Cover Price 38 euros
ISBN 978-3-96680-002-0 (English edition)
ISBN 978-3-96680-005-1 (Russian edition)

Book release date: September 5, 2019
Award-giving Ceremony in Kazan, Russia: September 13, 2019

This book is about the shortlisted projects and the six final recipients of the Aga Khan Award for Architecture 2019. Each one of the 20 projects presented in the book sets an outstanding example of sustainable and socially relevant architecture in the world today.

From a group of almost 400, 20 projects have been shortlisted by the Master Jury and evaluated by an expert group of technical reviewers. In addition to detailed descriptions of the projects, this book gathers personal statements from all members of the Award’s Steering Committee and Master Jury on key issues that were crucial in the discussions for the final selection of the recipients. Assembled together, the project information and the statements present views on excellent examples for improving environmental, cultural and social sustainability through architecture today. At the same time, this book offers perspectives from leading architects, academics and thinkers for the planning of the future. Cristina Steingräber, Publisher of this year’s Award publication: “Congratulations to the Award winners! With its rich illustrations and detailed project information, the Award book contributes to the dissemination of architectural innovation to the world.” 

The winning projects, sharing a reward of US$ 1 million between them, are spread across the globe: Bahrain: Revitalisation of Muharraq; Bangladesh: Arcadia Education Project in South Kanarchor; Palestine: Palestinian Museum in Birzeit; Russian Federation: Public Spaces Development Programme in the Republic of Tatarstan; Senegal: Alioune Diop University Teaching and Research Unit in Bambey and in the United Arab Emirates: Wasit Wetland Centre in Sharja.

Revitalisation of Muharraq
Bahrain: Revitalisation of Muharraq
Arcadia Education Project in South Kanarchor
Bangladesh: Arcadia Education Project in South Kanarchor
Palestinian Museum in Birzeit
Palestine: Palestinian Museum in Birzeit
Public Spaces Development Programme in the Republic of Tatarstan
Russian Federation: Public Spaces Development Programme in the Republic of Tatarstan
Alioune Diop University Teaching and Research Unit in Bambey
Senegal: Alioune Diop University Teaching and Research Unit in Bambey
Wasit Wetland Centre in Sharjah
United Arab Emirates: Wasit Wetland Centre in Sharjah

For a full on-line press kit, which includes briefs on each of the winning projects, high resolution images, broadcast-quality video (for use by television stations and websites) and other information, please see

About ArchiTangle
ArchiTangle is a Berlin-based independent publishing house and digital service provider in the architectural space, focusing on knowledge transfer and projects of social relevance. Dedicated to cultural and ethical values in architecture, ArchiTangle’s publishing program spans the entire architecture spectrum and aims to foster the dissemination of architectural knowledge through analogue tradition and digital innovation. ArchiTangle’s digital services include a novel blockchain-based archiving platform that enables architects, architecture institutions, archives and collections to securely preserve the integrity of architectural data in perpetuity.

About the Aga Khan Award for Architecture
The Aga Khan Award for Architecture’s mandate is different from that of many other architecture prizes:  it not only rewards architects, but also identifies municipalities, builders, clients, master artisans and engineers who have played important roles in the realisation of a project. The Aga Khan Award for Architecture is given every three years and was established by His Highness the Aga Khan in 1977 to identify and encourage building concepts that successfully address the needs and aspirations of communities in which Muslims have a significant presence. The Award recognises examples of architectural excellence in the fields of contemporary design, social housing, community improvement and development, historic preservation, reuse and area conservation, as well as landscape design and improvement of the environment. Since the Award was launched 42 years ago, 122 projects have received the Award and more than 9,000 building projects have been documented. 

For more information, please see ArchiTangle’s books page, the official 2019 Award Winners additional references, and social media at #AKAA2019.

Press contact:

For PDF and review copies please get in touch with us.

Images of the book covers can be downloaded here:
English Edition and Russian Edition

Dr. Cristina Steingräber
+49 30 98 390 338

ArchiTangle Publishers


More to explore

AKT II Google Bay in DETAIL magazine

The latest issue of the German magazine DETAIL features Google Bay View. The project is considered Google’s “workplace of the future” and

Stay in touch

Follow ArchiTangle on Social Media


Scroll to Top