Architecture Is Experimentation
Global Award for Sustainable Architecture


By Jana Revedin and Marie-Hélène Contal


Architecture Is Experimentation shines a spotlight on the intersection of architectural innovation and sustainable solutions through the lens of the Global Award for Sustainable Architecture 2023 laureates: Ronald and Erik Rietveld, Benedetta Tagliabue, Simon Teyssou, Mette Ramsgaard Thomsen, and Xu Tiantian. This publication brings to the fore their pioneering efforts in merging community engagement, technological innovation, and deep respect for cultural and urban heritage in order to advance sustainable architectural practices.

Featuring interviews with each winner, the book provides insights into their creative processes and philosophies by introducing projects that exemplify their approach to experimentation. It serves as a guide, detailing the tools, methods, and approaches that define the cutting edge of architectural experimentation.

By documenting the impactful work of these architects from diverse backgrounds and regions around the world, Architecture Is Experimentation offers insights into how architectural practice can lead to significant social, economic, and environmental progress.

Compiled to inspire and inform, this publication is an essential resource for those interested in exploring how experimentation in architecture can contribute to more sustainable, responsive, and contextually aware architectural solutions.

With contributions by Marie-Hélène Contal, Anupama Kundoo, Jana Revedin, Ronald and Erik Rietveld, Benedetta Tagliabue, Simon Teyssou, Mette Ramsgaard Thomsen, and Xu Tiantian.




Weight 950 g
Dimensions 26 × 24,5 × 30 mm
With contributions by

Marie-Hélène Contal, Anupama Kundoo, and Jana Revedin

Laureates 2023

Benedetta Tagliabue, Barcelona – Xu Tiantian, Bejing – Simon Teyssou, Le Rouget-Pers – Mette Ramsgaard Thomsen, Copenhagen – RAAAF (Ronald Rietveld & Erik Rietveld), Amsterdam




Hardback, full color, stich bound, embossing


24,5 x 26 cm / 9.6 x 12.2 in


approx. 100 illustrations

Page count

Approx. 160 pages

Publication Date

April 2024



About the Award

The Global Award for Sustainable Architecture was founded in 2006 by the architect and scholar Jana Revedin, together with the Cité de l’architecture & du patrimoine, the cultural partner of the award. The Global Award Community, which now consists of 80 contemporary architects from around the globe who have received the award, works towards a sustainable architectural ethics and fosters research, experimentation and transmission in the fields of sustainable architecture, urban renewal and academic social responsibility. It defines architecture as an agent of empowerment, self-development and civic rights.

The Global Award is under the patronage of UNESCO.

The scientific jury – chaired by Jana Revedin, founder and president of the Global Award for Sustainable Architecture – is composed of :
Catherine Chevillot, President, Cité de l’architecture et du patrimoine, Paris, France
Marie-Hélène Contal, architect, Dean of the Ecole Spéciale d’Architecture, Paris, France
Professor Dr. Jacopo Galli, architect, IUAV University, Venice, Italy
Professor Spela Hudnik, architect, Ljubljana University, Slovenia
Professor Dr. Deniz Incedayi, architect, Mimar Sinan Fine Arts University, Istanbul, Turkey
Prof. Dr. Jana Revedin, architect, founding president of the Global Award for Sustainable ArchitectureTM, Venice, Italy
Honorary member: Professor Chris Younès, psychosociologist, doctorate and HDR in philosophy, École Spéciale d’Architecture

Benedetta Tagliabue (EMBT), Barcelona
San Giacomo Church
Spanish Pavilion for the World Expo in Shanghai
Santa Caterina Market

Xu Tiantian (DnA_ Design), Beijing
Brown Sugar Factory
Quarry No. 8: Book Mountain

Simon Teyssou (Atelier du Rouget), Le Rouget-Pers
Municipal Hall and Hiker’s Center
Requalification of public spaces, Chaliers
Stadium Jean Alric – Refurbishment of the Marathon stand

Mette Ramsgaard Thomsen (Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts), Copenhagen
Eco-Metabolistic Architecture – The Harvested
Eco-Metabolistic Architecture – The Designed
Eco-Metabolistic Architecture – The Living

Ronald Rietveld & Erik Rietveld (RAAAF), Amsterdam
Bunker 599
Vacant NL

Global Award Winners 2007-2022

2022: Martin Rauch, Schlins, Vorarlberg – Anupama Kundoo, Auroville, Berlin – Okan Bal & Ömer Selçuk Baz, Yalin Architectural Design, Istanbul – Dorte Mandrup, Copenhague – Gilles Clément, Crozant

2021: Teresa Moller, Santiago – Solano Benitez & Gloria Cabral, Asuncion – Severiano Porto, Manaus – José Cubilla, Asuncion – Richard Sennett, London

2019: Rozana Montiel, Mexico – Werner Sobek, ILEK, Stuttgart – Ersen Gürsel, Istanbul – Ammar Khammash, Amman – Jorge Lobos, EAHR, Copenhagen

2018: Boonserm Premthada, Bangkok Project Studio, Bangkok – Raumlabor, Berlin – Marta Maccaglia, Associacion Semillas, Pangoa – Nina Maritz, Nina Maritz, Windhoek – Anne Lacaton & Jean-Philippe Vassal, Frédéric Druot, Paris

2017: Takaharu Tezuka + Yui Tezuka, Tokyo – Brian MacKay-Lyons & Talbot Sweetapple, Halifax – Assemble, London – Sonam Wangchuk, Leh, Ladakh – Paulo David, Funchal

2016: Patrice Doat, Grenoble – Derek van Heerden & Steve Kinsler, East Coast architects, Durban – Kengo Kuma, Tokyo – Gion Antoni Caminada, Vrin – Patama Roonrakwit, Case Studio, Bangkok

2015: Marco Casagrande, Helsinki – Santiago Cirugeda, Seville – Jan Gehl, Copenhagen – Juan Roman, Talca – Rotor, Brussels

2014: Christopher Alexander, Arundel – Tatiana Bilbao, Mexico – Adrian Geuze, West 8, Rotterdam – Bernd Gundermann, Auckland – Martin Rajnis, Prague

2013: José Paulo Dos Santos, Porto – Ted Flato & David Lake, Lake-Flato, San Antonio – Kevin Low, Kuala Lumpur – Marie Moignot & Xavier De Wil, MDW, Brussels – Al Borde, Quito

2012: Salma Samar Damluji, Beirut – Anne Feenstra, Kabul – Andreas Gjertsen & Yashar Hanstad, TYIN Tegnestue, Oslo – Philippe Madec, Paris – Suriya Umpansiriratana, Bangkok

2011: Shlomo Aronson, Jerusalem – Carmen Arrospide Poblete, Patronate MachuPicchu, Cuzco – Teddy Cruz, San Diego – Anna Heringer, Laufen – Vatnavinir, Reykjavik

2010: Steve Baer, Albuquerque – Phil Harris & Adrian Welke, Troppo, Darwin – Junya Ishigami, Tokyo – Giancarlo Mazzanti, Bogota – Snohetta, Oslo

2009: Patrick Bouchain Paris – Thomas Herzog, Munich – Bijoy Jain, Studio Mumbai, Mumbai – Francis Kéré, Berlin – Sami Rintala, Bodø

2008: Alejandro Aravena, Santiago – Fabrizio Carola, Naples – Andrew Freear, Rural Studio, Auburn – Philippe Samyn, Brussels – Carin Smuts, Cape Town

2007: Françoise-Hélène Jourda, Paris – Wang Shu & Lu Wenyu, Hangzhou – Hermann Kaufmann, Schwarzach – Stefan Behnisch, Stuttgart – Balkrishna Doshi, Ahmedabad


Quick and affordable delivery cost for this product:

Germany: Free
Europe (EU): EUR 4,90 per order (or free on any order of 2+ books)
Europe (Non-EU): EUR 9,90 per order
World: EUR 9,90 for this item

Same day shipping for any order placed by 13:00 CET (German time, workdays). Premium tracked shipping worldwide provided by ArchiTangle is shipping with Deutsche Post DHL Group

Scroll to Top